Hitchcock Pumpkin


If I paint a picture that is not a portrait, sometimes I feel like it doesn’t count.  I care about faces and the human figure, so when I chose the subject matter for this year’s pumpkin it had to be a portrait.  I wanted the subject matter to relate back to Halloween, but I wasn’t interested in zombies (enough about zombies already!), or monsters, or gore. I chose Alfred Hitchcock for his contribution to the horror genre.  He, like the most successful storytellers, chose to plant frightening ideas in people’s minds rather than spell it out in blood and guts.

The night before I carved the pumpkin, I sketched a picture of him using a photo for a reference.  I added some starlings too.

IMG_3082

Picking the pumpkin is one of my favorite parts.  Eric’s cousin, my sister, and I went to Markey’s Market and bought some pumpkins and apple cider.  We tried to photograph some pictures of Noelle with the pumpkins, but she wasn’t a fan of sitting on grass.  Even on a blanket.  Eric didn’t carve a pumpkin, but he did make a very valuable contribution.  He roasted the seeds, and they were delicious!

IMG_3007

I chose a huge pumpkin with a flat side to carve into.  I placed my sketch over the pumpkin, and used a pin tool to mark a few basic spots like the eyes, and outline of his face.  I’ve never done this before, and found it really helpful.

IMG_3071

As I was carving, I remember thinking that this is the most difficult pumpkin I’ve done yet.  I even toyed with the idea of giving up on it.  I think that one of the most difficult things about pumpkin carving is that once you take something away, you can’t put it back.  As a result, my pumpkin is a lot less Alfred-like than I wish it was.  But it did turn out better than I thought, and I am very happy with it.

Here it is in the light of day…

IMG_3070

Freaky, isn’t it?

But when it’s lit up, it looks completely different.

IMG_3066

Here are my past pumpkins from 2010, 2011, 2012, and a tutorial for carving a pumpkin.  So tell me about your pumpkin carving escapades!  Have you done one yet this year?  Do tell!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Pumpkin Carving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hitchcock Pumpkin

  1. That is amazing! Seriously looks spectacular. I’m super impressed.

  2. Christy Oyon says:

    wow that is awesome!!!

  3. arrynvogan says:

    I love seeing your pumpkins!! They always look so amazing! I also love that you chose Hitchcock! He is awesome!

What are you thinking?

