Great Expectations


Just wanted to poke my head in and say “hi” after a bajillion weeks of nothing.  I have some art to share.  When I had Noelle I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to get back into painting much.  I did, however pick up a new art student.  She comes once a week and my mother-in-law offered to watch Noelle for the whole afternoon even though our lessons start at 4:30.  So I have a free afternoon to paint now.

I picked up a new commission that is due at the end of the month.  A friend of mine and my mother’s gave me a very tough assignment, but when she told me I knew I couldn’t say no.   She has four biological boys but suffered  five miscarriages over the span of ten years…all believed to be girls.  When Becky’s father passed away in April, her mother said that Becky’s dad and daughters are all dancing in heaven now.  I was asked to paint them in black and white.

I was provided with images of Becky’s dad as a younger man, and pictures of her and her sisters as kids for reference.  I sketched the images on canvas, and then did my customary burnt sienna wash on the canvas.  Then it was onto acrylic paint and lastly oil paint.  I’m still working, but I’ll keep you updated.  Here is what I have so far:

IMG_8076 IMG_8173 IMG_8214 IMG_8228 IMG_8246I honestly feel like there’s no way I can do this commission any justice.  On my own, I definitely don’t have what it takes to create something that will be well done and meaningful at the level it needs to be.  However, I am praying that God works through me and that this painting will bring Becky and her mother comfort and peace.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great Expectations

  1. ArrynVogan says:

    This looks great! Definitely sounds like a tough commission to tackle but an honor as well. You are a great painter. Looking forward o the final image.

  2. abigaildubbe says:

    Wow! This looks incredible!!!

What are you thinking?

