Ex Nihilo


It means “out of nothing.”  I love the process of starting with a few basic supplies (stretcher bars, a length of canvas, tubes of paint), and transforming them into a finished work of art.  I like to think that I’m making something out of nothing, but really I’m pushing materials around.

I can not comprehend how God created the world ex nihilo.  I can’t even imagine what nothing would look like…nothing, I guess!  No color, no light, no matter.  It really makes what I do seem pitiful.

Alright, enough musing.  Here is my latest painting completed.  If you are just jumping in now, I encourage you to read this post about how I came across this commission and what it’s about.  I think that the idea that my friend Becky gave me to paint is a beautiful, sad, and glorious one.

When I left off, this is what the painting looked like:

IMG_8246

And here is the finished product:

IMG_8326When I was struggling to get pregnant, I painted these two paintings because it gave me comfort to be able to see Eric and I as parents.  I hope that this painting has the same effect for Becky.  That it would give her and her mom comfort to see a depiction of their loved ones united in heaven.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings, Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ex Nihilo

  1. arrynvogan says:

    This looks so wonderful! That would be a hard commission I think, but this looks beautiful. I am sure they will love it!

  2. Lynna Ross says:

    When I first glanced at the title of your blog, I said to myself, that means “out of nothing” & that is the word used to describe God’s wonderful creation. (I learned something in Bible College after all). Then I saw your post and read how you explained it and how it tied into your own art work. Awesome!!! The whole universe is God’s canvas. Love your finished art project.

  3. abigaildubbe says:

    It’s amazing, Melody!!

What are you thinking?

