The last of the prep work…thankfully!


Yesterday I applied the fourth and last coat of gesso (acrylic primer).  I sanded the canvas after each layer so that the surface would be smoother.  I  drew a grid on the canvas and on the reference photos and drew each of the boys.  The reason that I use a grid is because it is a fast and accurate way to draw the image on the canvas.  This way I know that everything will end up where it’s supposed to be.  Once the drawings were completed, I erased the grid lines and sprayed the canvas with fixative  so that the pencil lines would stay when I applied the first coat of paint.  The next step is to apply a layer of paint in a middle tone.  I usually use Burnt Sienna, because if it shows through, it lends a nice warmth to the painting.  When I went to paint this, I realized that I was out of Burnt Sienna so I mixed my own using the primary colors.  I’ll admit, it’s not my smoothest paint application.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The last of the prep work…thankfully!

  1. Elliot Martin says:

    Great photos I see the character of each one of them in the pictures. Coming along quite nicely.

  2. Arryn Vogan says:

    Hi Melody! I love your blog as well. That is so funny that we are using the same template for our blogs! I love it. I just subscribed to you…so I can stay posted with what you are doing. Keep it up. Your portraits are beautiful. I love the image you created as your header!

What are you thinking?

