Color at Last!


Ok, this marks the first layer of color in the process.  It is also the first layer of oil paints.  This is where I bid Adieu to Acrylics.   I can’t use Acrylic over the oil paint.  If I were to paint Acrylics (which are water-based) over Alkyds (oil-based), it would crack.  Think of what happens when you put oil and water together in a glass.  The oil rises to the top.  Connie, my client, asked me to do the paintings in Sepia tones.  I am using Burnt Sienna, Raw Umber, Ultramarine, Yellow Ochre, and Titanium White.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Color at Last!

  1. Connie says:

    SO EXCITING!!!

  2. mumsy says:

    I LOVE the way you explain things….are you sure you don’t want to teach? You make us feel like we are with you. Maybe you could have one of those TV How to Paint shows 🙂

  3. Arryn says:

    Melody, these are looking sooo great! You have become quite the portrait artist! I recently found my self-portrait that I did in Murph’s class and literally gasped out loud. It scared me. I end up painting people creepily! Yours look beautiful!

What are you thinking?

