Nothing is permanent


When painting with oils, it is easy to make adjustments while you go.   Especially when you paint in thin layers.  From this point, the changes will become less noticeable, but increasingly important.  When portraying a person, if a facial feature is just a millimeter away from where it should be, it can make a difference.

Today I painted in a rough version of the background.  I also made a few little adjustments to the faces (making a smile wider, or a shadow darker…etc).  It is easy for me to pick out the things that are wrong with my paintings when I have the reference photos and the latest picture of the paintings on my computer.  I flip back and forth between them really fast so I can tell if the eye is slanting up too much, or if the nose is in the wrong place.  Then I can make notes, and adjust accordingly.  I love how forgiving oil paints can be.  I don’t know how people paint with watercolors!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing is permanent

  1. mumsy says:

    People who watercolor well probably think the same thing about those who use oils well! you use oils well!

What are you thinking?

