Progress


Finally some encouragement!

I’ve been praying like crazy that my painter’s block would end.  Although the painting of Mitch (the painting always shown in the middle) is still on the rocks, I was able to make real progress on the painting of Josh (always shown on the right) with just a few minor brush strokes.  One of the them being the little “eye lights.”

When Connie and I met about the details of these paintings, she told me she wanted neutral-toned paintings with punches of color.  I’m doing this in a very subtle way.  Instead of giving the boys bright pink lips, which would look girly, I painted the lips in burnt sienna which is more orange.  I also avoided filling in their whole lips with color, and concentrated the color towards the inside of the mouth so that they don’t look like they’re wearing lipstick…unless you want that, Connie.  🙂

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Progress

  1. Connie says:

    I’m so glad you’ve moved beyond that “stuck” place. I know exactly what you were feeling. It happens with pottery too.
    I agree with your decision to keep my guys manly instead of looking like they wear lipstick!

  2. Barb says:

    I am loving watching the progress of these portraits. Glad you got through the block! One day closer to be ready to take on a project for me!!!

What are you thinking?

