Listen to the Music…or don’t.


A professor of mine used to discourage his students from listening to music while we were drawing.  He said that people are afraid to be alone, and that’s one of the reasons that we listen to music.  I think he may be right.  But I have to admit that I usually listen to music or audio books while I paint.  It helps me stay content while I work.  And this might not make much sense, but I think it helps me not to concentrate on my painting too much.  When I think too hard about what I’m doing, I can’t seem to get anything right.  And I’m not as likely to be creative.  So ideally, I like to distract part of my brain while I’m painting.  Let me know about you!  How do you like to work on things?  Do you find that music is a hindrance, or a help?

Here is a little ditty for those of you who like to listen to music while you work!  \”Let the Music Play\”-The Doobie Brothers

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Listen to the Music…or don’t.

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I like to listen to music when I’m doing housework or driving, sometimes, though music usually compels me to listen and/or sing along, so if I need headspace I can’t listen to it…sometimes it feels like I’m shutting God out and sometimes it contributes to my praising Him or praying for someone. The music needs to be a part of my surroundings, not in earphones. Earphones make me feel vunerable and unsafe because I can’t hear what’s going on around me. But I can see how listening to music while painting can actually pull you back from what you are painting and smooth the process.

  2. arrynvogan says:

    Hmmm which professor might this be? 😉 It depends on what I am doing. Generally when I am throwing I like the quiet hum of the wheel and just focus on what I am doing. I like music when I am glazing (but not during formulations). I also like music when I am hand building and most definitely when I am cleaning and organizing my studio space!

    • Melody says:

      I was remembering a professor at York College saying that. But now that I think about it, I’m pretty sure Murph used to say the same thing!

      When you’re on the wheel, are there certain sound cues that are helpful that music would drown out? Or is hearing the hum of the wheel more of a meditative exercise?

What are you thinking?

