Onward, Birds!


I woke up this morning and suddenly remembered that I have quite a bit of work to do to prepare for my October show.  So I ditched my house work (any excuse, right?) and formulated a game plan.  I already knew that I wanted to paint the wren chicks in my back yard, and I have tons of photos of them.

I dug around in my studio and found two pre-cut 9″ x 12″ panels.  Using a 50-50 mixture of Elmer’s Glue-All and Wallpaper paste, I adhered matching fabric to both of the panels.

  • First, I used a brush and applied a medium coat of the glue mixture onto the panel.
  • I laid the fabric on top and used a small straight edge to smooth the fabric to the panel.  The glue should bleed through the fabric.  I flipped the panel over and applied glue to the edges and folded the fabric around the panel as neatly as I could gluing it as I went. Then I stapled the four corners with a staple gun.
  • When that was dry, I applied a coat of clear  Acrylic Medium.

And when that was dry I sketched my two favorite photos on top of the fabric with white chalk.  Normally, to save time, I use a grid or a projector to transfer the image.  I decided that in this case it would be just as efficient to sketch the image free hand.  I like to use white chalk because it stands out against patterned fabrics, and can easily be removed with a damp cloth.  Then I painted the first layer in Acrylic paint.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in How To: Blog Posts, Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Onward, Birds!

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Wow! you were definitely inspired…. the wee birdies!

  2. Harmony says:

    Mel, you amaze me!! You did this in 1 day? seriously? It’s so crazy to see how you can just make…art! just like that!!!! I see what you mean about the fabric eggs!!! haha! I still didn’t get it after we hung up, but I guess I’m a visual learner. 😀

  3. Harmony says:

    hahaha! sorry Mel! You forgot to sign off! Attention all blog visitors: I, Harmony Niphakis, posted the above comment by “Melody.” So, no…she does not hold conversations with herself, compliment herself or call herself on the phone. she’s actually quite sane. 🙂

  4. Melody says:

    HAHA! Sorry, Harm. Thanks for setting the record straight!

  5. Nate says:

    I really like the lowest picture shown. Without the photo as reference, I would take a few minutes to realize whats going on. I think that ambiguity makes it really interesting. This is not a knock on the realism of the piece. I almost feel the same way about the photo. Baby birds are so odd looking.

    • Melody says:

      Nate, baby birds are odd looking. They look like dinosaurs/raw chicken. I also like that photo. It sort of reminds me of those Anne Geddes baby photos, but a weird off-beat version.

What are you thinking?

