The Birds Aren’t All Alright


I started these paintings as a documentation of my experience with the Wren chicks in my back yard.  My husband Eric and I would watch them a few times a day.  I loved seeing their parents coming and going from the nest with worms and other equally delicious (or not) insects.  One morning when we woke up,  they were gone.  Nest and all!  Not wanting to admit to ourselves that there was probably a neighborhood cat licking his chops, Eric and I each formed our own theories.  I said “bird rapture.”  He said the parents carried each chick to a designated secret location, then went back and picked up the nest.  Admittedly, we were probably  more annoying to those birds than a crowd of paparazzi to a celebrity.  Whatever happened, it is my sad duty to inform you that my paintings are no longer a documentation of the miracle of nature, but a sad eulogy for four unfortunate chicks.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings, Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Birds Aren’t All Alright

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Your descriptions are really well written, Mel, and the colors in your paintings are really draw the eye…I’m so blessed by your growth as a writer and artist. It touches my heart and draws me in.

What are you thinking?

