See-Through Skin


I imagine what it would feel like to hold one of these baby birds, and I get the jibblies*.  In some ways, I would enjoy the feeling of caring for a chick (not that I know how to).

But what really gets me is how delicate they are.  Its head and body would just lie limp in my hands.  I would look down at its wrinkly, see-through skin, and its gray, bulbous eyelids.

For a split-second I would  imagine what it would be like to squeeze it tightly in my hands, but then horrified at the thought, I would shake my head.

Chicks are truly amazing to me.  How can something so fragile stand any kind of a chance in this world?

*Definition of “jibblies”  from Urban Dictionary: A horrible feeling that makes you want to jump around, kick your feet, and shake your hands, attempting to rid yourself of the bad feeling.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings, Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to See-Through Skin

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I think we of the older generation would call it the heebie jeebies 🙂

What are you thinking?

