A few minor changes, and completion!


Yesterday and this morning I made up my mind to finish the bird paintings.  Originally I was going to leave the eggs looking very flat, but then I decided to add a little bit of depth by painting shadows and highlights.  I used a very thin wash so that the fabric would still show through.   I also decided that I like the vertical painting better horizontal.  Don’t forget that you can click on the images to enlarge them!

I haven’t given the paintings a title yet.  Any suggestions?

And now I begin the hard part again.  Formulation of another idea.  Because I will be showing all of my future summer paintings together with the birds, I don’t want to do anything too disjointed.  It’s difficult because my ideas of late have been very scattered.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A few minor changes, and completion!

  1. Harmony says:

    Mel!! These look great!! I already saw them before, but I wanted to see them again. Plus, I wanted to see if this comment thing would work, and it does! Anyway, I especially like the painting with 1 bird and 3 eggs. And the nest part looks really awesome, and I think it was a good decision to make the eggs look more 3d because they look really cool with the shading. Anyway, well done ma soeur!! Love ya!

What are you thinking?

