Directionless and Turning Blue


While on vacation last week, I received a phone call from a representative of CityArt Gallery.  She asked me if I can show my work in September instead of October.  I said “OK, but I’m only going to have around five small pieces.”  I was told it will work as she can use some of my old pieces.  I have to say that I’m disappointed that I won’t have the ten new pieces I was hoping for, but excited for the upcoming show.  Oh yeah, and I’m quite nervous that I won’t finish my work in time.  AHHH!

In light of the change in plans, I thought that my time in the studio today would be more focused and determined.  However,  it was quite directionless.  Although I refined a few of the paintings that I’m working on, I spent a lot of time messing around with different color possibilities.  For some reason everything is turning blue.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Directionless and Turning Blue

  1. Harmony says:

    Mel, now that I see the two pictures of my neck together, and smaller, I like the blue one a lot more. I think I still prefer the red because it’s my favorite color, but I’m saying I do appreciate the blue a lot more when I see it on this site. I think it’s still hard to decide about the deer picture. Whatever you do, it’ll be great!! Also, I just realized that I rarely go to your blog because when I get the emails, I just read and see everything from the email instead of going to the blog to look. …just something to keep in mind if you ever get frustrated about not enough people seeing your blog. 🙂

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    I have a solution! Make several copies of the same picture with different colors in each one! that would be an interesting way to bring people in to your work at a show as they decide which one they like better 🙂

  3. deAnn says:

    Melody, I love this website! So great to see your work in stages, transforming from a blank canvas to incomplete to finished. It’s inspiring too. Often we look at finished art only and can easily be inspired but then the inspiration is sucked out of us when we think we can’t do that. But to see an artist post their “work in progress,” well, it’s encouraging. :0) Keep up the awesome work and create as your heart is content. Hope to see you soon – deAnn

What are you thinking?

