Bittersweet Transition


As many of you may already know, yesterday was my last day working at Martin Foot and Ankle.  After three years of working there, leaving was bound to be bittersweet.  The people I worked with are so kind and fun to be around, and I will miss them so much. They are the kind of people that would buy a cake for your birthday, or make lunch for your graduation or last day.

But the SWEET part of the deal is this:  I am officially a full time artist!  I am so thrilled to be doing what I am passionate about, and now I have the time to dedicate myself to all aspects of being an artist.  Not only the painting, but the more businessy stuff.  A professor of mine once told me that making a career out of art is %70 business, and 30% art.

I am a bit nervous to start this new phase of my life, because I am unsure if I can really do it.  Some encouraging words came to me yesterday.  I had a brief conversation with Robert Patierno, and he said, “If you stick with it, you win.”  Time will tell.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bittersweet Transition

  1. airadian says:

    Happy Birthday Melody,
    I wish you a lot of joy in your art work and love that shine through you.
    I am glad for your persuing the desire of your heart, now one should work in anything other than what he likes.
    I am sure you will be doing great.
    love
    Alice

  2. arrynvogan says:

    Congrats Melody!! That is so exciting! I am aching for the day to go completely full time as an artist! I want to be doing that right now, but I still need to wait. I am so excited for you and I know you will go far!

What are you thinking?

