A Place to Put My Coats


I recently started on a project that is different from what I normally do.  I’ve been doing a lot of  yard-saling lately searching for storage shelves for my studio.  I found this old–well, I’m going to call it a coat hanger.  It was priced at $5, but I payed $3. 


I removed the nails that were for hanging things and removed the panel in the middle.  Then I sanded it, and primed it with white gesso.

It’s not often that paintings are functional, so I thought it would be cool to paint something on the panel.  I found a reference photo, and drew my version of the scene on the panel.

After drawing the image, I sprayed it with fixative to keep the pencil marks from coming off when I applied a layer of burnt sienna.  I like painting on a layer of burnt sienna for two reasons.  First, it is a mid-tone so it helps me to accurately see the true values (lights and darks) of the colors I use.  Second, sometimes the burnt sienna shows through a bit in the final painting, and it looks pretty cool.

I began to paint the colors using acrylic paint.  I will probably switch to oil paints later in the process, because I think that they are easier to control…but we’ll see!

I do realize that it’s a bit early to be thinking about coats, but when the time comes, you can bet that I’ll be prepared!  In the mean time, I can use this thing for bags, and other stuff like that.  Stay tuned for the results of this project.  I plan on using a top-secret technique to add some texture…but I’m willing to share it with you!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, How To: Blog Posts, Painting Update and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Place to Put My Coats

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Oh goody goody…I love top secret things…when they are not dangerous! 🙂 Looking good.

  2. Melody says:

    I can assure you that this technique is not dangerous!

  3. arrynvogan says:

    That looks awesome! I can’t wait to see the final product.

  4. Dad says:

    Hey Mel
    I really like how you took something that once had value but was discarded and are restoring it to give it new meaning and purpose. Very cool!
    dad

What are you thinking?

