The Big Studio Clean-Up!


Surveying the damage.

Now that I’m a full-time artist, I decided that making my studio a functional space  should be my first priority.  Before it was so messy that I could barely find a space to walk.  With some help from my sister Harmony,who is a master organizer, I was able to clear out the clutter.  My mom faithfully attended yard-sale after yard-sale helping me collect heavy pieces of furniture.  These finds help to provide storage for things like jugs of turpentine, paint sets, and book-making supplies.  I think the most I spent was $10 for a rocking chair.

I placed my easel in the corner so that I could take advantage of the natural light from the only two windows in the room.  Corner shelves help provide storage without taking up a lot of space.  Two wall-mounted shelves from the dollar store are the perfect place for my brushes.

A tall set of shelves was given to me by my mother-in-law.  It’s a great place for all of my art books,  and old bottles for still-lifes.  The smaller set of shelves holds my fabrics for still-lifes and fabric paintings.  The image on the right is of my rest area.  It’s a good place to sit down and take a break.  The low cabinet next to the chair provides more storage as well as a place to rest my cup of tea.  The wall behind the chair has a bunch of nails in it.  I can place my paintings here when I’m not working on them.  The painting in the picture is Harmony’s work-in-progress.


Pictured below is a low desk that my brother made for me a few years ago, because I like sitting on the floor.  I also love how the desk has a large surface area, but isn’t tall enough to block any of the windows.   This gives me a great place to work on stuff like this blog and bookmaking.

Well, there you have it!  My new and improved work space.  It went from a place I tried to avoid, to a place I don’t want to leave.  Thanks for reading!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in My Studio and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Big Studio Clean-Up!

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Now I’ll just have to drop over for a cup of tea…. and cookies? do you have cookies? No break is complete without cookies! The room looks great! Go Meli Go…GoGoGo…Paint Meli Paint PaintPaintPaint… Art Meli Art ArtArtArt… You can do all things through Christ Who is your strength!

  2. Harmony says:

    Yay! I love it!! Now, how long is it going to last? 😛

  3. Melody says:

    well, it’s been about a week, and it still looks reasonable. haha

  4. arrynvogan says:

    This looks fantastic! I love the low desk too! I am forever laying on my stomach on the floor to do stuff. what a great room.

What are you thinking?

