A Place to Put My Coats (part 2)


Ok, are you ready to hear about my texture secret?  I’ve been known to use fabric paints in my paintings, but I took it one step further in this project.  This is a great technique for tree bark.

I applied some fabric paint in vertical lines on the trunk of a few of the trees in the foreground.  I didn’t do this to any of the trees in the background, because it would make all of the trees look like they were near the front of the painting.  When painting or applying texture keep in mind that things in the foreground have the most texture because of how close they are to the viewer.

Next, I took a palette knife and ran it down each of the lines of fabric paint which flattened the middle of the line, but created ridges on each side of the tip of the palette knife.

Once the fabric paint is dry (usually in an hour or less), paint can be applied over it.  If you use this method with oil paint, the fabric paint must go down before the oil paint, because it is water based.  In this case, I’ve been using only acrylic paint which is also water based, so I don’t have to worry about which one goes down first.

 

 

 

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, How To: Blog Posts, Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Place to Put My Coats (part 2)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Very realistic looking….I think you better bring lots of puffy paints to NYC 🙂

  2. Harmony says:

    That’s so cool!!! It looks so real Mel! Also, I often stare at the picture you painted me (of us going down the waterfall together), and think about how awesome and real the water looks. 🙂 So when are you going to show us the whole picture with the new texture?

  3. Dad says:

    Cool! I feel like taking up painting just so I can try making bark look real!

What are you thinking?

