Acrylics are cool…who knew?


First, I want to say sorry for slacking on the updating!  I have been preoccupied with a trip I am taking this weekend.  I will fill you in on the details another day, so you’ll have to wait in suspense.

Then again, I guess it’s only suspenseful if you:                                                                                                                                                                                                      A) Don’t already know about the trip                                                                                                                                                                                                      B) Care to know about the trip

Moving on! You may know that I am a major snob when it comes to paint variety.  There was a time when I wouldn’t even glance at a tube of acrylic paint.  I thought, “How can painting with acrylics possibly compare to oils?  They are dull and flat-looking, and they dry so fast that it’s hard to make them look smooth.”  It wasn’t until my college professor suggested that I utilize acrylic paint for my under-paintings that I grudgingly acknowledged the existence of this inferior medium.  To my surprise, I discovered that it works well for under-paintings.  Later still, I found that it can act as a complimentary companion to oil paints if used right.

My latest discovery is a technique that I discovered in a moment of pure boredom.  I was sitting in my studio checking my email and I picked up my disposable palette which had some dried acrylic paint on it.  I began to peel the paint off, and that’s when I noticed that the underside of these peelings were fascinating.  They were these swirls of color.


My husband suggested that I make large sheets of this dried acrylic paint, so I did.

It took several hours to dry.   At first, the pattern (pictured above) came out too contrived for my liking.  I tried it again with more success, and was able to come up with some really cool swirly patterns.  I’ll keep you posted on those, and how I incorporated them into my newest painting.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Painting Update and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acrylics are cool…who knew?

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Meli, you forgot to show the painting you incorporated the dried acrylics into!

  2. Melody says:

    nope, I’m not posting that yet.. 🙂

What are you thinking?

