Rest in Sheep


The following is a fairly thorough documentation of my latest painting.  I wanted to see how fast I could complete a painting, and finished this in less than 10 hours (as opposed to the usual 15-30 hours).

Remember those sheets of dried acrylic paint that I was making?  Well here is my second try at making a cool design.  Instead of squeezing the paint right out of the tube onto the disposable palette, I used a paintbrush to transfer the paint onto the disposable palette*.  This left cool brush marks on the underside.  After applying the paint with a brush, I smoothed the surface with a palette knife.  This helped to make the sheet fairly thin.

*If you don’t have disposable palettes, wax paper would probably work just as well.

 

The next step was to allow the paint to dry.  This took approximately 5-10 hours.

In the mean time, I started my painting.  I chose a photo that I took at the York Fair as a reference.  I think these sheep are so funny and pathetic at the same time.  But their little turtlenecks reminded me of my new technique with the acrylic paint.

In order to speed up the process of this painting, I tried to do a good amount of it in acrylic paint, because it dries faster.  I started by painting a canvas black and sketching my image on the canvas using white chalk.  Then I started the under painting.

I went as far as I could with the acrylics, then I started using fast-drying oil paints called alkyds.

Once my sheets of acrylic paint were dry, I peeled them off of the disposable palette and flipped them over.  The underside is what I wanted because it is very smooth and has some really cool designs.

I took tracing paper, placed it over the painting, and traced the shape of the sheep’s turtleneck.  I left it a flat gray on the painting so that it would be an easy shape to trace.  After tracing the shape, I placed the tracing paper over the acrylic sheet, and used an x-acto knife to cut out the shape.

I glued the cutouts to the canvas using pH neutral glue that I bought at Stamp-ede.  I worked on the painting a little bit more.  The reason that I glued on the cutouts before I was totally finished, was so that I could adjust the colors of the painting with the cutouts in mind.

I used these dried acrylic cutouts for a painting this time, but I am also excited to incorporate them into my drawings too.  Thanks for reading!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rest in Sheep

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Well done… very interesting….and strange at the same time, in a nice way…. I like the shadow of the bars on the hay, and if I could put in an order…I’d like a turtle neck for me out of the blues…thank you! 🙂

  2. Easten says:

    Very cool! And 10 hours seems like a pretty short time to complete a painting!

  3. I have been looking for posts as interesting as yours for a while. It is nice to know you can find quality on the web. I’ve bookmarked your blog and hope you will continue posting such intersting posts

What are you thinking?

