A Road-Trip, Dead Bodies, and a Casting


I’M BACK!  …with no TV filmings to prepare for.  As my mother-in-law Carolyn said, “Melody will continue her “Works of Art” in York, PA.”

Carolyn and her sister Amy took me to NYC.  These two are the funniest people when they’re together.  I laughed so hard that I left with  four-pack abs, and came back with a six-pack…OK, well it felt like it!

We left PA on Friday morning, and arrived in NYC before the check-in time at the hotel.  So we walked to South Street Seaport, ate lunch, and visited the “Bodies” Exhibition.  Between us being conned into paying for the audio guides which we barely used, and witnessing Aunt Amy’s sneaky illegal touching of one of the bodies, it was quite an experience.  The best room by far was the fetus room.  It’s one thing to see pictures and diagrams of the stages of development, but it was amazing to see it with my own eyes!

The next morning we woke up at 5:15, got ready, and took the subway to the Brooklyn Museum for the casting. I was told I can’t  say anything about the actual casting, but I can give you a few details.  I arrived at the Brooklyn Museum at 6:37am.  Casting wasn’t going to start until 10am, but there were already 45 people in front of me.  The line was relocated once, and I ended up in position 104.  From the time I arrived to the time I left, I had spent about 6 or 7 hours in line.   Thankfully, it went really quickly, because I had Aunt Amy and Carolyn to keep me company with comments like, “Wait, isn’t this the line for Real Housewives of NYC?”.

Carolyn and I scoping out the other contestants.

My chat with the judge only lasted 5 minutes or less.  After I was done, Carolyn and I checked out Abdi Farah‘s exhibit which was even better in person.  In case you don’t know, Abdi won the last season of “Work of Art.”  On our way out, we noticed that the line had grown by about 1,000 people, and it stretched down the street as far as the eye could see.

I later learned that while I was in the casting room, Aunt Amy and Carolyn sat outside making up fake questions to ask the people in line.  Questions like, “What is your perspective on the directionality of the medium of your work, when it is merged with the past experiences of your lifetime?”  I laugh when I think about how any of those poor unsuspecting people would have tried to answer that!

If I had been chosen for a call back, I would have received word by 10 o’clock that night–but after an afternoon of shopping in jam-packed NYC, I was praying for the serenity of York County!  I don’t think I’m cut out for city life.  All-in-all  it was definitely a great experience, and a weekend of fun and laughter!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

