Fawn and Dreamboat


In May, I took a picture of my husband Eric holding a fawn.  Because I have never painted a picture of my husband before (can you believe it?!), I decided to use it as a reference for my next painting.  As I mentioned in my previous post, this is my largest painting yet.  OK, it’s not the size of the Louvre or anything, but it is certainly big enough to use as a sail on a windy day.

As you can see in the above picture, I painted the pre-stretched canvas black, and used white chalk to sketch the image.  I didn’t use a grid this time.  This made the initial sketch go a little faster, but I will still be spending a lot of time trying to get the proportions right throughout the painting process.  It’s pretty tricky to get the right proportions when you’re working from a small reference photo and transferring the image onto a large canvas.

I started painting the color using oil paint.  I started off with a very thin layer that allows some of the black to show through.  Then I started to build up the colors by adding thicker layers of paint.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fawn and Dreamboat

  1. Easten says:

    Looks great so far!

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    I like it…I like it!…. .that’s our Ericy! It would be nice to see the photo…. I’m not understanding the brown behind the fawn’s ears.

  3. Pingback: Minute Motivation « Melody Martin

  4. Pingback: Painting Update « Melody Martin

What are you thinking?

