Fawn and Dreamboat (Part 3)


Finally on Friday, I was excited to work on this painting.  I made a lot of progress, and I’m getting more and more excited about it.  As you can see, I’ve started on the background.  You may have observed this from my other paintings, but I LOVE patterned backgrounds.

There’s nothing very experimental in this painting, but it has been a great refresher course on some techniques that I don’t use often.  I really feel like I needed this painting…it’s very me and I felt like I was starting to lose that.

So here’s the progress.  Again, I’ve included the furthest progress before this point so you can compare the two.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fawn and Dreamboat (Part 3)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I like the rich colors coming out in the fawn…the orangy and the blues do indeed compliment one another…and the background is cool….can’t wait to see it finished!

  2. arrynvogan says:

    I like the patterned background as well. It is an interesting touch. Nice Job!

  3. Pingback: Painting Update « Melody Martin

What are you thinking?

