Elevating (part 2)


My big brother introduced me to another artist that uses everyday objects and elevates them by turning them into art.  His name is Kevin Van Aelst.  Kevin takes these objects and rearranges them to represent another object.  Here are a few of my favorites, but before you get to them, I am posting Kevin’s artist statement.

“My color photographs consist of common artifacts and scenes from everyday life, which have been rearranged, assembled, and constructed into various forms, patterns, and illustrations. The images aim to examine the distance between the ‘big picture’ and the ‘little things’ in life—the banalities of our daily lives, and the sublime notions of identity and existence.  While the depictions of information–such as an EKG, fingerprint, map or anatomical model–are unconventional, the truth and accuracy to the illustrations are just as valid as more traditional depictions.  This work is about creating order where we expect to find randomness, and also hints that the minutiae all around us is capable of communicating much larger ideas.” -Kevin Van Aelst

The Ocean, 2010, digital c-print, 24 x 36

Hercules, 2010, digital c-print, 36 x 24

Left Middle Finger, 2007, digital C-print, 43 x 34.5

The Moon, 2010, digital c-print, 36 x 24

You can see more of his work on his site.   What are your favorites?   

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Artist Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Elevating (part 2)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I like the boat one as it is something I would display in my house… I love how he took such an ordinary object like the blue masking tape and made it beautiful …sends me on flights of fancy!

  2. Harmony says:

    I agree with mom. The boat one is the coolest, though I really like the moon too 🙂

  3. arrynvogan says:

    Those are neat! I like the ocean and the moon the best!

What are you thinking?

