Where Art Thou, Confidence?


I bet you’re wondering if I started my schedule yet.  And the answer, I’m ashamed to say, is no.  I owe it partly to laziness, partly to my messy studio, and partly to a crippling lack of confidence.  It’s been so long since I’ve painted that part of me wonders if I can still paint.  I faced the same thing last year when I took a break from painting to make books.  The key to confidence in this area is just to dive in, and stick with it even when things don’t come out right.  I know this to be true, but I still can’t seem to make myself sit down at my easel.  I mean this figuratively, but literally there isn’t a chair up there yet.

Here is a picture of my messy room, that I have yet to clean before I start…

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where Art Thou, Confidence?

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    since this “artist’s block” has happened before, from the confidence standpoint, perhaps you have a new personal policy of always keeping a small painting on the go even when you take a break to do book making…. something small….use up old canvases…paint a tomato or a garlic…paint someones eyes… paint a tree branch… paint more pots and pans…. prepare a bunch of those cloth canvases so you can pull one up on a whim, in time of need, and collect a bunch of photos of what you want to eventually paint and have them available to just grab up and start. Keep everything at hand sort of like on Christmas eve when some people/kids put out cookies and milk for Santa…you keep your stuff ready to go…
    just a thot…. might work?

  2. elliot martin says:

    hmmm I agree with Holly.

  3. Melody says:

    thanks, guys! Sounds great!

What are you thinking?

