It’s Time for a Hobby!


Now that my hobby has become my job (read about that here), I’ve decided that I need a new hobby.  I find myself lounging in front of the TV whenever I’m not working, so I want to find something more enriching to help fill my spare time.  The question is what can  beat watching reruns of Glee (gah! I admitted it!)? Or watching the movie The Holiday for the cagillionth time?

My mother-in-law gave me her copy of the local community education catalog.  I looked through it last night and circled a few classes I found interesting:

It’s no secret what a weakling I am.  Maybe this class would be good for me, and maybe I’ve dreamed of kicking butt since I saw Kill Bill for the first time, but there are things I’d rather be learning.

I like the idea of exercise that I have to go to.  What I need is a set exercise time that I can’t wiggle out of…but wait!  I think I’m wiggling away from the idea of an exercise class.  I’d rather just watch this clip from a brilliant beyond brilliant movie:

Another possibility is:

Now, I know what you’re thinking…Quilting?  How totally uninspired!  But really, I wish I knew how to sew better.  I think it would be nice to have another skill to add my arsenal.  If I learn how to quilt, it will open up another realm of art possibilities.  And if stereotypes hold true, something tells me I’ll be the youngest one in the class!

And last but not least, Ukulele!

I played guitar for years in high school, but I think the Uke suits me better.  I’m small and I love the beach, so I’m pretty sure I’ll love the Ukulele too!  Also, my name is Melody and I don’t even play an instrument…LAME!

So I’m mulling it over.  Anyone else looking for a hobby?  Anyone have a hobby that you love?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Time for a Hobby!

  1. Harmony says:

    I vote for Karate or ukulele… You’re starting to make ME want to do karate, but the ukulele is definitely near the top of the list!

  2. Ally says:

    SEWING!!! Or knitting!!! They are both so much fun and with knitting you can watch Glee reruns and not feel guilty.

  3. Erika says:

    Um I would LOVE it if you whipped out some Bollywood moves at the beach! haha. Ukelele sounds awesome!

  4. arrynvogan says:

    I say all sound good! I think you should go for the ukelele and quilt! Then when you are cold you can say, “hey I’ll whip us up a quilt to stay warm”! How sweet would that be? 🙂

  5. Melody says:

    That would be pretty awesome, Arryn! All I can do now is say, here cover yourself with these scraps of fabric…I don’t know how to sew them together!

What are you thinking?

