The Entourage (Sketches)


I decided that my next painting is going to be of this picture:

Although, it doesn’t seem to be the general favorite, I love this photo.  The lighting is so unusual, and I love the expression on my nephew’s face.  This painting is going to be called “The Entourage.”

This morning I did a few quick sketches from the photo.  One of the reasons that I like to sketch is because it helps me to better understand the image.  As you can see in some of these photos, I’ve been having some trouble getting my nephew’s face right. The first is a five-minute sketch that I did, and the second is a 10-15 minute sketch.

Each time I draw him, I can pick out what is wrong in the drawing and what needs to change.  The idea is that when I finally get around to drawing him on the canvas, I’ll know in advance what my weakness is in drawing this particular image.  Think of it in terms of a city fortifying its walls in preparation for an upcoming attack…only much less dramatic.

Sketching this morning was especially difficult, because my heart wasn’t in it.  I am so ready to start painting, but I don’t want to skip this step because I believe that it is important…like eating your vegetables before dessert!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Entourage (Sketches)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I can’t help but love the way you phrase your process.
    Does WordPress provide a service to have your blog made into a book (like The Little Squirts?)? You are so capable to make this available to the public, to students, who could benefit! Go Meli Go…Go Go Go!

  2. Melody says:

    I don’t know…I didn’t know you could do that on blogspot.

  3. Carolyn says:

    Good choice!I love the determined look on Ashers Face.(I had a child with that same intensity,and you married him) The second picture you did is just about there~perhaps paint will do the trick.

  4. arrynvogan says:

    This one was the one I hoped you would pick! Can’t wait to see you work unfold.

  5. Margaret Kremer says:

    I like this photo also. I will be interested in seeing the finished project. I knew that he reminded of one of my nephews.

What are you thinking?

