The Entourage: The Grand Transfer


Remember the practice sketching that I did on Wednesday?  Well it really helped me when it came down to transferring my reference photo onto a canvas.

I decided to use a grid to transfer this image.  I often do this when I want to work from a reference photo that is a lot smaller than the canvas itself, or if the composition is a bit more complicated.  I used a grid for this image because I love the composition, and I didn’t want anything to change.

So I drew a corresponding grid on the reference photo and canvas, and transferred the image onto a 20″ x 16″ canvas.

I think I’ve mentioned before that drawing a grid is a valuable time-saving device.  I could have taken the time to draw everything out without the help of a grid, but it would have meant spending loads of time erasing and redrawing things.

After I drew the image, I went back and erased the grid lines.  Next time I use a grid I’ll try to remember to draw the grid itself with a light pencil.  The heavier the lines, the harder it is to erase.  The harder it is to erase, the more you have to press down on the canvas which can stretch it out.

And now, I have to spray the canvas with fixative spray.  This will keep the pencil lines from coming off when I start the next step.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Entourage: The Grand Transfer

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I am very privileged to have you do that drawing in my house! 🙂 of course the subject is a favorite one, too.

  2. Carolyn says:

    It’s coming to life Mel!I’m loving it!!!

  3. arrynvogan says:

    This looks great! I enjoy seeing and reading about your process!

What are you thinking?

