My New Leaf


I just took on a brand new project for Eric’s cousin.  She’s getting married in August and asked me to design her Save the Date cards.  I jumped at the chance to try something new.  She filled me in on her inspiration for the wedding and I started painting designs in my sketchbook.  This is what I came up with yesterday.

Disappointing, right?  I really like owls, but this seems more like it should be an announcement for a 50th anniversary party.  Today I’m going to try moving in a different direction.  I’m just starting to get the hang of this, so hopefully I can come up with something that is as young and stylish as the happy couple.  Pray for me…I need it!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My New Leaf

  1. arrynvogan says:

    hahahahahahahaha! I totally agree! I laughed so hard to read what you wrote. I do love owls too. I know you will refresh it! Your work is great! this is an excited new commission as well!

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    I do indeed think the owls are cute…I love the seeming luminescence of the feathers, too…but nothing about owls says wedding, though maybe if the lady owl had a veil?
    hahaha…

  3. Danielle Hoet says:

    Melody – my parents are celebrating their 30th Anniversary next year and I love all things owls – because they “Hoet” – so can I purchase this reject to use for that event?

What are you thinking?

