Ta DAAAAAA (Save the Dates are Complete!)


On Thursday, I finished up and mailed the design for Eric’s cousin’s Save the Date Cards.  After going over many ideas and possibilities for the design, she came up with a really cute idea.  Being drawn to the aesthetic of the Rifle Paper Co.‘s designs, she gave me an image of this wedding invitation.

It wasn’t exactly what she wanted for the Save the Date, and Rifle didn’t have any similar Save the Date cards.  So she explained what she wanted, and I changed the design to this.


When I was working on it, I glanced at the reference image to get an idea of what it looked like, but I tried not to look at it again as I was painting it.  I wanted the design to have a piece of me in it, and I wanted to see what would change in translation.

I would never encourage replicating any design that isn’t your own.  However, in this case I felt as if I used the same format but varied the design enough to make it my own.

Here is the full page that it’s on.  Eric’s cousin will send it to the printer where they will add the typed info under the design.  I can’t wait to see the finished product!

I had a lot of fun turning over this new leaf, and I’m so grateful to the bride-to-be for asking me to paint this design.  She was very good at explaining exactly what she wanted and that made it easier for me to paint it.  I also loved how she had her own ideas of what she wanted.  When working on commission it’s so hard to get inside the client’s head that it’s truly a blessing when they can communicate what they want.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ta DAAAAAA (Save the Dates are Complete!)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    It’s really cute, Melo, I like that the detail is crisper, too.
    Blossom away, young’un. 🙂 It’s very sweet.

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    I also like your Edsy key banner with your initials.

  3. Harmony says:

    Mom, it’s Etsy, not “Edsy.” Also, Mel! You scared me to death when you showed the first picture because it sounded like that was the one you mailed and I was like, “Oh no!!!!” because you missed the “a” in “marriage.” I really like the final design you sent. It’s cute! And the bunny looks great 🙂

  4. Melody says:

    hmmm…i just noticed when you said something. that is so odd. hopefully they fix that!

  5. looks good! got one in the mail last week and fun to see it in person

What are you thinking?

