Oh Happy Day! (More Shadowboxes, More Keys)


I recently purchased a bunch of shadow boxes for an amazing price.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them yet, but I’m excited.  I’ve only worked on two of them.  More. Keys.

I liked my big shadowbox so much that I decided to do two little ones with the 4″ x6″ frames.  I just posted these babies on my Etsy Shop, so if you’re interested, you can check them out.

Here is a little glimpse of the process that I used to make these:

I cut the bookcloth and the paper to the size of the frame.  I used an old paintbrush to brush the glue onto the paper.  I adhered the bookcloth to the paper.  I positioned the keys where I wanted them and poked a small hole on either side of the key where I would attach the keys to the bookcloth with clear nylon thread.  I looped the thread around the key and pulled it through the holes, knotting it in the back.  I repeated this a few times with each key.  Here is what the back looks like:

Here is what each key will look like:

Since we’re on the subject of keys, I thought I’d ask you.  What is the key to your heart?  It could be a nice gesture or a character trait.  What would (or did) it take for someone to win your heart?  It doesn’t have to be romantic either.  It could be a friend or family member.  My example is how my husband gets in my side of the bed in the winter and warms it before I get in.  The first time he did that, I knew I struck gold!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Etsy Shop, Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Happy Day! (More Shadowboxes, More Keys)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Dad had the key to my heart when I first met him snowed in in Rochester Airport and we talked about our love for the Lord and serving God on the mission field. Knowing that God was first in his life (and not me) meant security and trustworthiness and real love.

  2. Easten says:

    I love it when my husband plans fun and thoughtful surprises like pretending he is going to work when he is actually planning to take the day off or secretly arranging babysitting so that we can go out to dinner- just the two of us! He’s a keeper:)

What are you thinking?

