Art at the Movies (Alice in Wonderland Takes the Cake)


I recently re-watched one of my favorite movies, Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.   So I was naturally overjoyed when Alice in Wonderland won Best Art Direction (Robert Stromberg) and Best Costume Design (Colleen Atwood).  I love both of these categories because they showcase amazing artists that work in film.  My very favorite moment of the Academy Awards ceremony was when Robert Stromberg whipped out a little handmade Mad Hatter hat for the Oscar trophy.

Seriously!!! How great is that!?

Did anyone else watch the Oscars?  I realize that this post is a little late in coming, but what were some of your favorite moments?

*pictures found here and  here.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art at the Movies (Alice in Wonderland Takes the Cake)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    My favorite part was your post!
    I didn’t get to see it …we were rather wonderfully occupied at the Columbia restaurant in downtown St. Augustine!

  2. Harmony says:

    Favorite moment… when that old guy was saying how beautiful Ann Hathaway is and she was fanning herself. 🙂
    Also, I love the topic of the post, the background of the blog, and the new clip of the picture at the top and the new title and the subtitle. Great job! 😀

What are you thinking?

