A Fun Commission For a Fun Family!


I am pleased to report that I will be starting a new commission soon.  My client is Eric’s Aunt Amy.  Aunt Amy is Eric’s mom’s sister.  She accompanied me and Eric’s mom to NYC to try out for Work of Art in September.  It was so much fun!!

ANYway, this commission is a birthday gift to her husband (Uncle Tom…and yes, he has a cabin).  It is a portrait of their three daughters Libby, Caroline, and Grace (left to right).

Using tracing paper, I quickly traced the picture and decided on the composition.  We already knew we wanted it to be on a 24″x36″ canvas, so I had to figure out the exact dimensions.  I don’t know if you can tell, but I ended up moving Caroline’s left hand a little so that it would fit in the picture.

I emailed this image to Aunt Amy to get her approval before I order the stretcher bars.  She approved, so now I just have to place my order and wait for the stretcher bars to arrive.  In the mean time, I hope to finish a painting by the end of the week.  Stay tuned to see which one!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Fun Commission For a Fun Family!

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    the girls are beautiful…the painting will be awesome and a feast for the eyes….a feast of sisterly bond, of the joy of youth….

  2. Erika says:

    That is going to be such a great painting!!! What sweet girls to be painting =)

  3. arrynvogan says:

    I have that same yellow young life sweatshirt but from Lake Champion! I love that place! I look forward to seeing this painting.

  4. Melody says:

    I love YL camp so much!

What are you thinking?

