The Neverending Story


This painting feels like the never ending story right now.  Seriously!  I wanted to have it finished by Saturday night, but I deviated from my original plan.  After I painted the bluish purple swirls in the background I couldn’t shake the thought that the painting was lacking in green.   Then a strange and comical image* popped into my head, and I couldn’t shake it.  The image was this still shot from the movie Garden State.

*image found here.

I just couldn’t stop thinking about the green wallpaper.  Although I liked how the bluish swirls played off of Eric’s t-shirt, it seemed to detract from the overall image.  So I painted the swirls green.

Overall, I liked that the focus was back on Eric and the fawn.  I also liked how the image seemed like it was going back to nature.  As if maybe Eric could be in the woods with the fawn instead of in front of some alien wallpaper.  Pleased with the result, I took black paint and a small brush, and painted all of the negative space around the background designs.  It went from looking like this:

To looking like this:

So that took most of Saturday!  Then I thought about how I did like that bluish color of the old swirls, so I decided to add a little detail to the leaves in that color.

But I think it’s too much and the bluish color has almost the same effect as when it was on the swirls.  So I’m nixing that.  Maybe I’ll go with a burnt orange detail..or a different shade of green.  You probably think I an idiot for debating this seemingly minor detail, but I assure you.  It makes a huge difference in the tone of the painting.

All of that to say that I’m stuck in this never ending story and I can’t wait to get out.  I was going to give this painting to Eric for his birthday tomorrow, but there’s just no way it’ll be done in time.  Good thing I got him some back-up presents!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Neverending Story

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    you are right about the bright blue spots…they draw too much attention away from Eric and the fawn… but I do love the warmth of Eric’s color.

  2. Harmony says:

    I don’t know, I kind of like the purple dots. Everything seems more… alive. KIND OF LIKE IN AVATAR!!!! Anyway, i think you’re doing a fabulous job!

  3. Carolyn says:

    Melody I like the design behind his head but not below his arms,it makes his body appear to be cut off?

What are you thinking?

