Mommy Poppins to the Rescue


I have always had an aversion to sculpture and three-dimensional work.  Also, science.  So it was with a great amount of trepidation that I endeavored to make Eric’s birthday cake.  I am embarrassed to admit that yesterday I made my first cake.  In 24 years of existence, I had never made a cake!  I won’t be too hard on myself though…babies don’t really have the coordination or reading skills to follow a recipe, so that time is excused.

The funny thing is that I love to cook.  I have no problem following recipes, but baking is different.  In cooking, if you accidentally add too many mushrooms, who really cares?  But baking is much less forgiving. It is a science.

I wanted to bake this cake without the help of my mom who is a master cook and baker.  So Harmony came over to my house, and we worked on the recipe together.  We did everything that the recipe said, but when I baked the cake and try to get it out of the pan, it totally fell apart. That’s when I fell apart and called my mom.

Mom, being a mom, knew exactly what to do.  She came over with her bag of supplies (like Mary Poppins, only Mommy Poppins), and set to work piecing my cake back together with icing.  She was whistling away the whole time like it was no big deal.

My plan was to make a van cake, but cut the middle out and shape into the form of the car that Eric designed a month or two ago.

It wasn’t too bad once we figured out which part of the cake was the most salvageable.

After sticking the cake back together, we stuck it in the freezer for ten minutes so the “glue” could harden.  Then my mom iced it.

Once my mom could see that we were out of the woods, she took her magical bag of supplies and floated off with her umbrella–probably to help the next bad-baking victim.  And I got to do the fun part!  Decorate the cake!

Yay for moms!!!

Harmony said it best:  “Mel, this turned out really well for a crappy cake.”  haha.  Love that girl!  And in case you were wondering, Eric loved the cake, and we lived happily ever after.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mommy Poppins to the Rescue

  1. Cheryl Muzaca says:

    Even before I read the post, I KNEW it was the car Eric had designed- good going!! And I LOVE the Mommy Poppins….and your Mommy Poppins 😀

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    Maybe you should write children’s books!
    I love how it turned out….and yummy chocolate chips! Because they were so much on my mind I had a little handful of them this morning… maybe you’ll bring some cake over for us today 🙂
    Yesterday was a very definite fun day!
    Your very own Mummy Poppins!

  3. Easten says:

    I think the cake turned out great! We should team up to bake cakes because I always enlist the help of a more crafty person (my sister, Micah) to decorate any cakes I make…

  4. Erika says:

    Melody, that is such a cute cake!!! You totally can’t tell it was ruined at all…way to go!

What are you thinking?

