Blank Slate


Last Saturday I received my Dick Blick shipment.

Along with some bookmaking supplies, I also now have the stretcher bars for Aunt Amy’s commission.  Two days ago I assembled the stretcher bars, and began priming the canvas with gesso.  I have two coats on, and I would like to get another two coats on before I sketch the image on the canvas.

If you haven’t seen my tutorial on  how to stretch a canvas yet, you can check it out below.  Harmony made the video so there are a few embarrassing moments, because she loves to make me feel awkward.  And I would like to add that I let her tease me, because I’m a great sister and a good sport.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blank Slate

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I love the picture of your boxes on the porch! Gives an aire of expectation…here we go, again…another work of art to watch unfold…in real life…not glossed over and fake but very very real…a sort of Abraham Lincoln “warts and all” development.

  2. Easten says:

    Can’t wait to see the progress!

  3. Erika says:

    The video tutorial was great, and the outtakes made me laugh!

What are you thinking?

