A Typical Afternoon


A space heater blasting hot air into my face, my Emiral “BAM!” apron on, sometimes music or an audio book playing in the background, and the smell of toxic chemicals in the air…This is my preferred painting set up.  And here’s a video in case you’re wondering if it’s as exciting as it sounds:

You’re Welcome.

P.S.  In case you read my post on studio safety and are concerned that I’m not wearing gloves (I bet that was your first thought), I did apply barrier cream to my hands so that the paint doesn’t soak into my skin.  The only other safety concern I really have is the paint fumes.  I’m not entirely sure that my studio is ventilated as well as it should be.  And although I have come to love the smell of oil paint and turpentine, I’m not so sure that I’ll love fielding possible chemical-induced medical conditions later in life.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Typical Afternoon

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    Perhaps if your attic door was open the fumes that can rise up would rise up out of the room?
    So would your heat, though! Well, today it’s supposed to get up to 60 ! Paint on, young paintress.

  2. Easten says:

    Love the video. I think it would go viral on youtube…

  3. Betsy Wills says:

    Fun to see you work!

What are you thinking?

