Stay in School, Kids! (Ramblings on Math and Using Projectors)


It’s so easy to hide embarrassing facts about yourself when you are a blogger.  But I think it’s important for you to know that my Kryptonite is math.  My friend Erika is a math teacher, and in my eyes, she is a genius!  How the heck does she do it!?!

As you may know, I often use a grid to transfer my image onto the canvas. Due to some complications that are way to boring to even write about, I ended up needing to convert a decimal to a fraction (x over 16).  Except I couldn’t remember how to convert it to save my life!  I wanted to find out how to do it online, but every time I started reading about it I zoned out.  So I called my husband at work, and he converted the decimal for me in about two seconds.  In the end, I decided to take the mathless route and I’m resorting to using a 3″ x4.5″ tracing of the original photo for the grid.  It’s so pathetic!  Do you see the difference in size!?!

I’m thinking about buying a projector to transfer the images instead of using a grid.  I’ve already made up my mind on this issue, but there are others who really disagree.  Here are the two main arguments:

1) Transferring an image onto a canvas using a projector or a grid is cheating.  The artist has a responsibility to the purchaser (and/or the viewer of the art) to create a piece using their natural skill sets.  Using a grid or a projector is a crutch.

2) Using a grid or a projector is a valuable tool.  It is silly not to utilize certain devices that can make your process more efficient.   If you can get the same results by either using a grid/projector or drawing by hand, it’s OK to use the grid/projector.

I would love it if you would take a few seconds to vote in this anonymous poll.  I’m dying to know what you think!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings, Painting Update and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Stay in School, Kids! (Ramblings on Math and Using Projectors)

  1. Erika says:

    Melody,

    We must share a mutual respect for each other’s field because I think you are the true genius for all of your artistic ability! I love the math post though, and when I have an artistic student that complains about math class, I can say, “I know a real live artist who uses math!” Haha!

What are you thinking?