McNamara Girls! (in Black and White)


I’m off to a mediocre start on the portrait of the McNamara girls.  I was hoping to get the black and white layer spot on, but the girls are not looking quite themselves yet.  Oh well, there’s plenty more layers of paint for that.  I’m going to try to get the main problems solved before I move on.  There’s nothing worse than being in the end stages of a painting, and realizing that someone’s eye is crooked, or their nose is too long!

Here are a few pictures of my progress:

Doesn’t the third picture look scary?  It’s a comfort to know that sometimes my paintings look horrifying at times, but they always seem to work out in the end.  All it takes is a little Stick-to-it-iveness!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to McNamara Girls! (in Black and White)

  1. amy says:

    i am thoroughly enjoying watching the process! what fun!

  2. Betsy Wills says:

    I’m a McNamara Girl! Middle of 3 girls, Margaret, Betsy and Cathy! Artstomer1@gmail.com! So much fun. Betsy McNamara Wills

  3. arrynvogan says:

    This looks awesome so far!

  4. Jane L Choate says:

    Wow! It is getting MORE perfect with every stroke…….My 3 beautiful nieces! Looking so real and life-like………..

What are you thinking?

