Nature of Paint


My sister-in-law Easten sent me this awesome video that she found of artist Duane Keiser painting an orange, then painting it being peeled.  It’s sort of like an animated short.  It’s really cool and it allows you to see the nature of paint–how it can be painted over and pushed around.  I highly recommend that you watch it.  I don’t think I can embed videos from twentytwowords.com, so here is the link.  The video doesn’t have sound, so if you’re watching this at work (shame, shame) no one need ever know.

Is there a part of the video that really stuck out to you?  I found myself scolding him for using his fingers to wipe away paint.  It isn’t exactly safe, but I do it a lot too.  And I love how there are points in the video where you think “hmm, how’s he going to redeem that weird glob of paint?”  But it all comes together.  I am such a sucker for time-lapse videos.  If you know of any other good ones, please let me know!

*image found here.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nature of Paint

  1. Easten says:

    Glad you liked it! And I didn’t even think about him wiping off the paint with his fingers. I guess I’m not very chemically-minded:)

  2. Carolyn says:

    that orange ‘peel’ painting was awesome!

  3. Erika says:

    Wow, that was really neat!

What are you thinking?

