The Night When the Chocolate Flowed Like Wine


Remember the post where I tried to find a hobby?  As you may remember, I chose to start playing the ukulele and to take a chocolate class.   Wednesday night, I went to the chocolate class with my mother-in-law and minion.  It took place at Anstine’s Candy Box which is a local family run candy store.  The best part is that there were only four of us taking the class, so we got a lot of attention from the instructors.  For two hours, we learned about the different types and qualities of chocolate.  We learned how to make marshmallow, and truffle filling.  Then, in a small candy kitchen infused with the scent of chocolate, we created!  And it was….GLORIOUS!

The instructors gave us various tools to make chocolate covered macadamia nuts, craisins, peanuts, strawberries, and truffles.  Then we coated peanut butter (mixed with white chocolate) and homemade marshmallow in chocolate.  This is when I discovered that my artistic ability does not extent to chocolates.  Mine were really ugly, but they taste great!  After that, the instructors let us choose from over a thousand molds to make our own molded chocolates.  I chose seashells, mermaids, and horses.

It was so cool because we were allowed to try making whatever we wanted.  The instructors also gave us permission to sample whatever candies we wanted from their store.  And the best part?  We were allowed to take whatever we made home.   Here is what I ended up with after the class:

And that, my friends, is money well spent.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Night When the Chocolate Flowed Like Wine

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    O glorious yumminess! We are still enjoying the fruits of that night.

  2. Carolyn Martin says:

    I can’t imagine you have too much left ~after your husband found your stash? I can’t think of any edible more fun to be surrounded by than chocolate. I was like a kid in a candy store…

  3. Easten says:

    Wow- where can I sign up?!?

  4. Erika says:

    That looks like so much fun! What a great idea!

What are you thinking?

