The Entourage Ensues


The other day I was reading a post about artist Melissa Chandon on artstormer.com, and I was inspired and reminded of a principle that I learned in college.  Contrast doesn’t only have to do with color, but with value, texture, content, form…etc.  Melissa Chandon’s paintings have great contrast.  I am totally in love with the texture of the sky against the flatness of the car and the foreground.I was so in love that I decided to try it on my current painting of my nephew Asher.  Here is what it looked like the last time I showed you.

And here it is now:

I like it so much more!

As you can see I also changed a couple of colors around.  You know how I get once I start experimenting with color.   It could be another month before I finally settle on the right one for the shirt on the left.  I didn’t, although it looks like it, change the skin color of my nephew in the foreground.  It is the new colors around him that made his skin tone warmer.  Crazy, right?

So what do you think of this contrast madness?  Although it isn’t necessarily how you would see things in real life, do you prefer it or do you like paintings to look more realistic?

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Entourage Ensues

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I was so surprised at the difference the color of Easten’s shirt makes with Asher’s skin tone! I thought the yellow shirt would take my eyes away from Asher put it didn’t. i like the change though yellow is not my favorite color on a person. I still worry about Asher’s tummy and bellybutton though…it looks a bit exaggerated though I know it’s part of the process.

What are you thinking?

