The Art of an Artist


I am a maker of art, but does that mean I have a house FULL of amazing original art?  Not yet, but I’m working on it.

Here is what I have so far:

A painting of Tuscany that my mother-in-law bought while on vacation in Italy.  She gave it to me for Christmas one year:

A really fun ceramic piece by Jill Moodie-Pellegrino.  I received this as a wedding gift from another artist:

A beautiful ceramic bowl made by Rick Oldhouser, a wedding gift:

And an awesome print by a professor that I had while attending Houghton College–Jillian Sokso.

The story of how I got this print is really great.  I took a printmaking class with Jillian and for the last assignment we were to make ten prints based on a song that we loved.  When the prints were finished, the ten of us (9 students plus Jillian) each drew a number.  The number that you picked was the number print (out of ten) you got from each student.  I drew #1!  So I got everyone’s first print, which is the best one to have.  **Sidenote: When choosing prints as a collector’s item, you want the lowest number of the edition.  For example, if there are 150 prints, it is better to have number 53/150 than it is to have 138/150.**

I also have this box that my great-grandfather made.  It was given to me when my great-grandma died.

Many people ask if I have a lot of my own art hanging in my house, and the answer is NO!  For one thing, it’s better to have your art in a gallery where it has more of a chance to earn you money.  I currently don’t have any work in a gallery, but I still won’t hang a lot of my paintings up because I critique them every time I pass.  I would never get any rest if I had a house full of my own paintings.  However, one of my paintings has a permanent place in my home:

My husband took this picture of a sunrise one morning from his parent’s roof.  He had stayed up all night praying about whether or not he should attend college.  It’s not my best piece by any means, but for me it is a symbol of God’s nearness in spite of uncertainty.   I painted it for Eric in December 2006, which was the same month we got engaged, and gave it to him for Christmas.

So there it is.  My tiny collection of art.  Do any of you have a precious piece of art in your household? I’d love to hear about it!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Art of an Artist

  1. arrynvogan says:

    I loved this post! It is fun to see what works are in someones home. I especially love the painting of the sunflower field from Italy. It is beautiful! I have a watercolor from Murph that I love. It hangs in my kitchen. We did an artist trade and that is how I got it.

  2. Ally says:

    I have one of your paintings in the bathroom…and all your letters in the kids’ rooms.

  3. Erika says:

    I have the lovely photo frame book by the one and only Melody Martin!!! =) And I have some Connie Rae pottery too… =)

  4. Holly Niphakis says:

    Being a mother I tend to have what my keds have done…each precious. I have a number of your pieces, painitings drawings watercolor and my ceramic bust of melody’s head 🙂 and a magic marker drawing you did when you were four that shows amazing attenilon to detail… I have a wooden alligator with a mouth that opens into a little chamber that Micah did in mlddle School and I have a bookmark with tiny yellow birdfeathers from Malaysia that Nathan made me when he was in school at Chefoo…

What are you thinking?

