Not Your Average Art Project


I’m back!  I’m so sorry for not posting for almost a week and not even warning you. Hope you had an amazing 4th of July.  I sure did! And yesterday, Eric opened my eyes to a whole new world (go ahead, you can sing Aladdin.)

Image found here.

You see, yesterday morning I visited the Hall of Mirrors at Versailles.  A few minutes later I studied Van Gogh’s Starry Night at the MoMA in NYC.  I got so close, I could see the cracks in the paint.  How did I do it?

GOOGLE ART PROJECT!!!!!!!!

Have you been to googleartproject.com?!  It’s like Google Maps for art museums.  You can go to the site and click on a museum, and you can explore it and look at the paintings.  Many of the paintings are high resolution so you can zoom in and see the tiniest details. You can even get information about the artist’s life, and details about the painting.

*image found here.

Now, I’m not saying that this is any substitute for seeing the images in person, but I would guess that it’s the next best thing to actually visiting the museum.  I mean, let’s be honest, do I have the means to actually visit Versailles?  No.  And until I do, I can check it out on this awesome site.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Your Average Art Project

  1. arrynvogan says:

    That is such a cool website. it was fun to poke around on it!

What are you thinking?

