Vaca Hours Are Over, Baby!


The beach was amazing.  Every year, my in-laws go on a trip to Emerald Isle with about six other families.  It’s a tradition that has been taking place for over 20 years!  It is by far mine and Eric’s favorite trip to go on, and this year was no different.  I read the book Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin which was entertaining, but overall, not recommended.  But I do love this one line where the main character is describing her love for a man.  She says that the time she spends with him is “Like the perfect beach vacation, where the routine is so blissfully uneventful that when you return home and friends ask how your trip was, you can’t really recall what exactly you did to fill up so many hours.”  That is the best description of my trip.  For one week I relaxed on the beach, by the pool, in the house, with people that I love, and it was.  PERFECT.

Crossing the bridge to Emerald Isle.

The gorgeous beach!

Eating the clams they caught (if you can really "catch" a clam), chips, and cowboy caviar.

Searching for sandcrabs!

Success!

A few houses down, a man caught a shark!

Eric took up surfing and putting wax on his teeth.

Now that I’m back, it’s time for work again!  I’m still ruminating on some ideas, so stay tuned!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vaca Hours Are Over, Baby!

  1. Ally says:

    I Love the book Something Borrowed!

  2. arrynvogan says:

    This is a great post and looks like an amazing vacation! I love catching those sand crabs and the way they feel when they try to crawl in your hand!

What are you thinking?

