The White Elephant in the Room (Part 2 of the Love Saga)


Read Part One Here.

When Eric’s mom encouraged him to invite a girl to homecoming,  Eric said, “My greatest examples are the apostle Paul, John the Baptist, and Jesus, and none of them got married so I’m not going to get married either.  And I’m not just going to date a girl if I’m not going to get married.”

I, who didn’t know of Eric’s resolve not to marry, developed a crush on him in October of our senior year.  I was always seeing him in the hallway in between classes, and he was so nice and always looked happy to see me.  Little did I know that there was a reason I was seeing him so much…He was following me around!!!  I never thought he would ask me out, because he just seemed so content in his singleness.  Even so, I thought about him a lot and wondered if he was husband material.  I loved that he would go out of his way to be friends with people that didn’t have many friends, I loved that he loved Jesus, and I loved his confidence.

I also loved that he had an interest in Asia, because my parents were missionaries in Thailand for seventeen years.  For a little while Eric had been emailing my mom with questions about being a missionary.  She told Eric that she, like him, had never planned on marrying.  When she met my dad (another incredible love story), she mentioned to my dad that she wanted to be a single missionary like the apostle Paul (sound familiar?).  My dad’s response was that marriage could be an advantage when you’re a missionary, because if you’re in a rural area your spouse may be the only one that you can have fellowship with.

So Eric and I liked each other, but didn’t flirt or let on at all, until December. There was a Campaigner’s (a division of Young Life) Christmas party on the night of the 15th at my friend’s house.  Before he left his house to go the party, Eric said to his mom, “Just so you know, I might end up getting married.”  Slightly confused, she looked at him and said, “Okay.”

After playing white elephant at the party, Eric slipped into the garage and flipped a coin.  As I was getting ready to leave, he called after me. “Melody, can I talk to you for a minute?”

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The White Elephant in the Room (Part 2 of the Love Saga)

  1. Harmony says:

    oooh!!!! This is better than the Twilight saga! Can’t wait till tomorrow!

  2. Auntie amy says:

    Though I have heard this story several times I am enjoying hearing it from YOU!

What are you thinking?

