Eric, What did you DO!?! (Part Three of the Love Saga)


See Parts One and Two to catch up!

After playing white elephant at the party, Eric slipped into the garage and flipped a coin.  As I was getting ready to leave, he called after me. “Melody, can I talk to you for a second?”

“Sure.” I said.  Surely this was it!  He was going to ask me out!  But instead he said something that really surprised me.

“Are you ever planning on getting married?”

“Yes.” I said

“And do you want kids?”

“Yeah, like seven kids!” I joked.

“Would you marry me?” he asked.

At this point, I was rendered speechless, and shook my head, only it was spurred by excitement and ended up being a sloppy nod.

“No?” he said.

“Yes! … if it’s God’s will.” I added.

“Ok” he calmly replied, “Talk to you later.”

The cruelest part of the night came when I had to ride home in a car full of boys.  I was bursting to tell someone, but I had to keep it to myself so I was pretty quiet on the way home.  Sure it was a bit strange how I said “yes” to The Question, but everything he was saying was consistent with my junior year resolution.  I realize now that I had been thinking about the answer to that question so much that when the time came to give an answer, it was the right and easiest one to give.

Meanwhile, Eric arrived home and he said to his mom, “Well, it looks like I am getting married after all.”

She dropped the pile of laundry that she had been folding, and said, “Oh MY Gosh!  Eric, WHAT DID YOU DO!?!”

The next day at school, I saw Eric in the cafeteria, and invited him to my parent’s house for spaghetti on Friday night.  Oh, youth! Naturally, it was a bit of an awkward night.  Between Eric and I getting to know each other better in the presence of my family, and Eric telling an anecdote about his pet goat that died and remained unnoticed for two weeks, I was happy to find that we still like-liked each other at the end of the evening.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eric, What did you DO!?! (Part Three of the Love Saga)

  1. Harmony says:

    hahaha! I love it! More I say! More!!

  2. arrynvogan says:

    Ahh! I love reading your story! Keep them coming! All these cliff hangers! Also, I love those books you are working on. The flowers are beautiful and the striped one reminds me of tree rings.

What are you thinking?

