Happily Four Years After (The Final Chapter of the Love Saga)


You may want to read parts One, Two, Three, and Four to catch up!

Some of my Houghton friends!

I had always expected to finish my college education at Houghton.  It is a great school, and I had made some truly incredible friends, but halfway through my sophomore year Eric and I decided that enough was enough.  We knew that we wanted to get married, so Eric left his job, we both moved back into our parents houses, and transferred to York College which was close to home.

Eric drove to New York to pick me up from Houghton.  It was so fitting that he was the one to come and get me, since he was the reason I was returning to Dallastown.  We enjoyed our Christmas break, and celebrated our two year dating anniversary on December 20th.  We decided to go out to dinner, but first I suggested that we visit the county park and walk the trails there.  When we arrived at the park, Eric went to the trunk of the car and pulled out a bundled up blanket with something inside of it.  I asked him what it was, but he said he would show me later.  We had only been on the trail for about five minutes when I commented on how beautiful it was.  Eric took this as a cue and invited me to sit with him on a nearby bench.  Then he got up went over to the spot that I said was beautiful.

He said, “Can I talk to you for a minute?”

I walked over.

Then he said, “Are you ever thinking about getting married?”

I guessed what was coming and smiled. “Yes!”

“And you want seven children?”

“Well maybe not that many.”

And he got down on one knee and said “Will you marry me?”

“OF COURSE!”  I replied.

Then he pulled the ring out of his pocket and put it on my finger!  I was totally surprised because I didn’t think he would propose until I turned twenty in February, but my dad gave him permission to propose early.

We both went and sat down on the bench again where Eric opened the blanket to reveal champagne and two champagne flutes.  Looking back it wasn’t legal to drink in the park, and we were only nineteen and twenty, but our love goggles impaired our judgement.

That August we were married in front of Eric’s parent’s home, and moved into a small house in…where else?…Dallastown.  And we lived happily four years after.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happily Four Years After (The Final Chapter of the Love Saga)

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    I’m going to print this up and give it to Gramma and Grampa 🙂 they’d love to read this!

  2. Nate says:

    And the crowd goes wild!

    Thanks for the fun story. I learned some new details.

  3. Easten says:

    Too cute! We should take marriage advice from you veterans:)

What are you thinking?

