No Plan? No Problem???


Actually, It’s kind of annoying not having a plan.  I am a HUGE planner.  I am the person that thinks about how my actions will affect my life five or ten years (or fifty years) from now before forging ahead.  But the only solid plan I have at this time is to create ONLY masterpieces from now on.  Of course, it’s easier said than done.

The other day I went ahead and prepped a canvas without a plan.  Usually this is a recipe for disaster, but I am seriously hoping this painting will be one of my planned-on masterpieces.   You know my paintings on fabric?

I’ve been meaning to make more of these, but I wanted to try (again) to adhere the fabric to a canvas instead of a panel to see if it would work(this time around).  I chose a random fabric that I picked up at a dollar store in Japantown San Francisco.

I chose a pre-stretched canvas and cut a piece of the fabric a few inches larger than it on all sides.

Then I mixed wallpaper paste with Elmer’s Glue-All.  This mix was suggested to me one time, and I’m not sure what the wallpaper paste does, but it seems to work well.  In the future I may try just Elmer’s glue to see what happens, but I’m not sure if it’s as archival.  Next time I’ll try using more Elmer’s in the mix.

I brushed the glue mixture on in a light and even layer.

Then I used a flat tool I had in a ceramics kit to smooth the fabric down.  Any similar tool would work just fine.  The glue should seep through the fabric and help to seal it.

Next I trimmed the corners of the fabric, and started to glue the fabric to the sides and the back of the canvas.  When trimming the corners, make sure you don’t trim too far!  I also used a staple gun to tack the fabric onto the canvas frame.

I love how the fabric wraps around the sides of the canvas frame.

The only issue is that it dried with a few bumps.All in all, applying fabric onto panel works a little better than doing it on a canvas.  But I like how it is easier overall to apply fabric to a canvas.  I’m going to keep trying the fabric thing with the canvas, and hopefully I can work out all of the kinks…literally.  Now I just have to formulate a plan for what I’m going to paint on top of the fabric.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in How To: Blog Posts, Painting Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Plan? No Problem???

  1. Holly Niphakis says:

    You should pre-shrink the fabric….hot wash. That should help as well as ironing it real good, which I’m sure you did… Looks beautiful…I too like the look of it wrapped around the back. 🙂 nice work! I still really love the other fabric paintings you did.

  2. Cheryl Muzaca says:

    Holly,
    That was my first thought as well- preshrink the fabric…. I wonder about modpodge, too…not that I’m a painter or anything… 😉

    I’m glad to see you working with fabric again 🙂

What are you thinking?

