Scattered


I am a total scatter-brain.  If I took a picture of the art part of my brain right now, here is just a tiny snippet of what you would see.

My to-do list is this:

  • Finish the three books that I started
  • Complete the painting of Eric with the fawn
  • Complete the fabric painting that I painted over
  • Start a painting using the flowered canvas that I stretched
  • Complete image for Living Word Community Church growth group books
  • Refinish and Reupholster a disgusting foot stool that I found at a yard sale
  • Think up a concept and plan more paintings to go with the recently completed painting of Asher for a cohesive body of work that can be shown in a gallery.

When I have that many things rolling around in my brain, it’s extra hard for me to start or finish anything.  Everything I’m working on seems so disjointed.  The projects aren’t really working toward a common goal.  The last goal on my list is really is one of my top priorities.  It comes second to finishing the design for a book cover for my church.  Commissions first!

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scattered

  1. arrynvogan says:

    That is usually how my brain is feeling as well!

  2. Holly Niphakis says:

    Melody Joyful… I recommend you cover up or put away everything but the top priority or two…maybe it will help you focus. Turn your phone off and check it once every hour…
    Or..if you need to…bring one project here and work here when the house is quiet.
    I think the picture of your brain here is an excellent description and I think us Niphakis girls (the blood ones) understand from the inside out. all mumbo jumbo….but maybe you could think of it as potpourri…fragrant in the mix.

What are you thinking?

