A Prayer, a Plan, and an Illustration


A man from my church asked me to design a cover for a book that he’s putting together for a study (based on Scot McKnight’s book The Jesus Creed).  He explained that the topic is loving God and loving others.  It’s based on Mark chapter 12 in which Jesus says:

“‘Hear, O Israel!  The Lord our God is one Lord; and you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.’  The second is this, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’  There is no other commandment greater than these.”

I chose to do a heart even though the symbolism is obvious.  There is a hand in the upper right corner inscribing a message on the heart.  I chose to do it in a language of the Bible. I started out with Greek, but was asked to switch it to Hebrew which looks really cool.  I also placed some thorns in the background with some poking through the heart.  Sometimes the message to love God and love others comes at a cost.  I was also asked to make the edges rough, so I burned them.  Here are some pictures of my progress:

I did the painting with acrylics, and used heavy watercolor paper so that the paper wouldn’t warp.  I dropped it off at the church on Wednesday, and a couple of hours later Michelle Perez, the church’s graphic designer, emailed me the cover she designed featuring my painting.

Didn’t Michelle do a great job?  If you like what I did, let me just say that it’s not a natural thing for me to be able to come up with things as quickly and successfully as I did.  When I was asked to do this painting I said “yes,” then started to panic.  I prayed, and after that I became inspired and things went very smoothly.  Coincidence?  I think not.

About Melody

My name is Melody Martin. Check out my art blog, and learn all about the steps and techniques that go into oil paintings.
This entry was posted in Painting Update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Prayer, a Plan, and an Illustration

  1. Margaret says:

    Melody, this is great! It’s amazing how quickly we can pull things off sometimes! I’m dying to see the final outcome, but the last photo isn’t showing up. Is it just me?

  2. Cheryl Muzaca says:

    I can’t see it either :/

  3. Easten says:

    That looks great!

  4. Ally says:

    Mel, it’s awesome!!

  5. Holly Niphakis says:

    Your picture and the final product are full of meaning….nice work, daughter of mine.

  6. AniToddSmith says:

    Melody this is beautiful. Great job. Prayer helps. God is a great source to lean on and learn from.

  7. Ned says:

    Great job. Thanks for putting your artistic expertise into this project. I really appreciate it!

  8. Erika says:

    Melody, that is so good! It’s so meaningful and I just love it!

What are you thinking?

